SFUSD Data Security Improvements 2018

Have you noticed Google is prompting you to log-in to your account more often than in the past? 

To increase security and protect our organization’s data, SFUSD’s Google domain now automatically signs a user out of Google’s web-based services (including Gmail and Drive) 24 hours after a user’s most recent login time. This means those using a web browser to access Google services, will be prompted to log back in to their Google account once each day per browser used. 

This added layer of security is especially beneficial in an era of shared devices. If a student or educator forgets to logout of their district-issued Google account within any browser anywhere in the world, Google will now automatically log them out after 24 hours, significantly limiting any window of data vulnerability. Web-browser sessions are only affected by this 24 hour setting. Those using any of Google’s native smartphone apps like Gmail, Drive, Classroom, etc. are not logged out after 24 hours. 

Have more questions? Submit a request

0 Comments

Article is closed for comments.